The Sevenfold Gift

Every time that Jesus’ blood flows, God points to one of the seven wonders of the Cross, which can take effect in your life. The following overview clearly shows how often, where and when Jesus’ blood was shed for you:

1. The wonder of forgiveness

Jesus sweated drops of blood in the Garden of Gethsemane: ‘In great anguish he prayed even more fervently; his sweat was like drops of blood falling to the ground’ (Luke 22:44, GNB).

2. The wonder of salvation

Jesus was abused in the home of the high priest: ‘Then they spat in his face and beat Him’ (Matthew 26:67a, GNB).

3. The wonder of cleansing

Jesus was abused during the interrogation: ‘I did not stop them when they insulted Me, when they pulled out the hairs of my beard and spit in my face’ (Isaiah 50:6, GNB).

4. The wonder of healing

Jesus was scourged by Pilate’s soldiers: ‘Then Pilate set Barabbas free for them; and after he had Jesus whipped, he handed Him over to be crucified’ (Matthew 27:26, GNB).

5. The wonder of deliverance

Jesus was crowned with a crown of thorns: ‘Then they made a crown out of thorny branches and placed it on his head (…) They spat on Him, and took the stick and hit Him over the head’ (Matthew 27:29-30, GNB).

6. The wonder of reconciliation

Jesus’ hands and feet were pierced when He was crucified: ‘Then they crucified Him and divided his clothes among themselves, throwing dice to see who would get which piece of clothing’ (Mark 15:24, GNB).

7. The wonder of being born again

A soldier pierced His side with a spear: ‘One of the soldiers, however, plunged his spear into Jesus’ side, and at once blood and water poured out’ (John 19:34, GNB).

Previous Next
See all images